The Reason Why Children Have Stuffed Animals

Who as a kid wasn’t afraid of the dark?  Hell some people still are:

and for good reason...wow.

Anyway I had a stuffed animal for the early years of my life (pictured above).  I named him Grey Dog and he went EVERYWHERE with me.  I never thought much about it until I came across this picture explaining what he was doing when the shadowlurker up there came around:

That’s right, Grey Dog (like every other children’s stuffed animal) defended me from those things in the night that I believed lived under the bed/in the closet.  And even if he didn’t actually come to life wielding a sword and shield in my defense, what was important is that he provided me comfort from my fears of the unknown.

I guess what I’m saying is that things that seem simple become so much more interesting when dressed up by a little imagination.  I was afraid of what might have been lurking when the lights went out, but I trusted that the little guy I clutched tightly on my way to sleep was in it with me and if a fight for my life with the things of darkness ever happened…he’d be there.

Now much later in life I still use that irrational imagination to help me conjure excitement and theatrics around the gaming table, and I owe the growth of that imagination to that little guy and my belief he was protecting me from the darkness all those years ago.

This entry was posted in Tavern and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

